Curried Potato Pumpkin Apple Soup

Yesterday afternoon, I decided it was time to put away my Halloween decorations, which consisted of 2 candles and the last little pumpkin from one of my veggie baskets. It was a tiny pumpkin – so cute!

While pondering, “Is it too early for Christmas decorations?” I decided to make a bit of soup with this itsy bitsy, teeny weeny pumpkin. The Christmas decorations are on hold until at least next weekend when I will, no doubt, ask myself the same question once again.

Boy, oh, boy! Did I end up making a fantastic soup. The other week, my Mom was looking through the Gazoo and found some pumpkin recipes. Mom doesn’t like curry so she made a face at the pumpkin soup with curry but I was intrigued. I had a quick look at the recipe… interesting…

I regret not taking a photo of this soup in process but, alas, you all know what these things look like.

Goosekeeper’s Curried Potato Pumpkin Apple Soup

  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 stalk of celery, chopped
  • 1 carrot, chopped
  • pumpkin, peeled, guts removed and cubed <– I’d say my tiny pumpkin yielded about 1 1/2 cup of pumpkin cubes
  • 1 small apple, peeled, cored and cubed
  • 6 small potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 1/2 to 1 tsp curry powder, to taste
  • 1/8 to 1/4 tsp cayenne, depending on how hot you want it
  • 1/4 tsp dried ginger, though I’m sure fresh would be better but I didn’t have any
  • 3 cups homemade chicken broth
Cook up your mirepoix until the onions are translucent.
Toss in the pumpkin, potato and apple and give it a good mix. Add in the spices with a little salt and pepper to taste.
Top it off with the chicken broth, bring it to a boil then cover, turn down the heat and let simmer for 25-30 minutes until the potatoes are nice and soft.
Blend it up, either in batches in a blender or with an immersion blender, right in the pot. Incidentally, I love my immersion blender so much; best kitchen appliance, hands down.
I’m going to eat my soup with a rosemary roast chicken on root veggies tonight. Have I mentioned that I simply love autumn?
Leave a comment

Filed under Local Organic Veggie Baskets, recipes, soup

Leave a Reply

